Mother’s Day

I know some awesome mothers, not just my own mother.

My sister-in-laws, Judy and Beth, married men who each had young children from previous marriages. I know there’s a lot of baggage that can be dumped on a woman when she marries a man with children; not just from the children but from the “first wives.” Not a job for the faint of heart but they jumped into parenthood with both feet, eyes wide open and maybe a bit of naivety. How else could one survive instant motherhood?!

I hesitate¬† to use the term “step-parent.”I feel it doesn’t give justice and appreciation to the role these women play but I will for clarity.

Judy and Beth didn’t set out to be “replacement” mothers. They chose the difficult job of being “another” mother to Cam and Brit. They faced the same challenges as mothers who parent their own children with the added stress and diplomacy of step-parenting. And they did an excellent job!

After many years of on the job training, Beth and Judy deftly managed the troubled waters of step-parenthood and came out even more awesome women then before.

Here’s a salute to the unsung heroes, “other” mothers: May you be blessed despite the lack of recognition, the inadequate title of “step-mother” and the turbulent waters yet to walk! “Salut!”

About mtewks

I like to write for fun and profit. This is my fun blog.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mother’s Day

  1. bff says:

    You said this well, needed to be said, its a mostly thankless job.

    Like

  2. Angie says:

    I don’t know how you mother’s do it but you’re the best I know! I can’t believe how much patience is possible & hope to attain it one day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

