My Favorite Place in the World: the Upper Penninsula

Copper Mines, Pictured Rocks, Porcupine Mountain, Tahquamenon Falls: nature's finest.

I love Michigan's Upper Penninsula. As a child I lived in Escanaba and Marquette. Great places to live with lots of snow in the winter, wild blueberries in the yard in the summer and absolutely gorgeous colors in the fall.

As a kid, my family hiked up Porcupine Mountain, through Tahquamenon Falls, swam in Lake Superior (not recommended unless you like the feeling of numb limbs) and toured Pictured Rocks.

When our children were young, my husband and I camped Fort Wilkins State Park in Copper Harbor in the Keneewanau Penninsula, the very tip of the Upper Penninsula where Dale and the girls toured the Copper Mines. Route 26/41 is a beautiful route. Trees line the two lane road creating a canopy over the road. There are amazing road side stops along the way too.

Powered by Plinky

About mtewks

I like to write for fun and profit. This is my fun blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

