What I Miss About Childhood

As the family grows, the ties that bind stretch.

I had a great childhood, despite the divorce of my parents. The only thing I miss about that childhood is the sense of family unity and closeness.

My parents taught us that friends come and go but family is there through think and thin, forever regardless.

For most the first 11 years of my life, my family – siblings and parents- lived far from our extended family, cousins, aunts and uncles. It was just us Kevin, Cathy, Brian and I and, of course, our parents. Whenever we moved to new town, we were each other playmates until we made friends and even then, Cathy, Brian and I were often in the same school, being that we were so close in age. We looked out for each other, protected each other if necessary and stood up for one another, even to this day.

Since we lived so far away from family, it was a big deal to go visit family or go to a family reunion. We’d all hop in the family station wagon (wood grain side too) and “entertain” each other, (also the usual “She touched me!” “He’s looking at me!” etc…)

Now that we are all grown up with families of our own, and some of even have children-in-laws and grandchildren, it’s harder to get everyone together.

My parents have four children plus two son in laws, and two daughter in laws; 13 grandchildren (including the grandson-in-law and the granddaughter-in-law) and six great-grandchildren with another on the way.

I look forward to the day we can celebrate just being all together!

Powered by Plinky

About mtewks

I like to write for fun and profit. This is my fun blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

