Winter Reading List

One thing I love about winter, more time to read. This is my third winter reading the classics. This winter, I’m reading classics I’ve never read before.

This is the first on my list. And I can’t wait to read it. I received the download from Dailylit.com and have it in my Gmail just waiting for that first snow. I’ll be wrapped in a cozy blanket, sipping a hot cup of cocoa while a warm fire crackles in the wood stove!

I’m not sure what I’ll read after this book. Whatever strikes my fancy, I suppose.

Powered by Plinky

About mtewks

I like to write for fun and profit. This is my fun blog.
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Winter Reading List

  1. Courtney says:

    I don’t know if you’d call this a “classic”, but one of the most powerful books I’ve ever read (several times) is “A Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich” by Alexander Solzhenitzen (sp?). Okay, don’t be scared off by the “Russian writer” syndrom, his other stuff is a very difficult read, but this book, rather short for a Russian writer, is a much easier read that any other Russian I’ve read; Tolstoy, Dostyevsky (sp?), other Solzhenitzen, etc. It’s supposedly a fictional account of one day in the life of a prisoner in Russia, maybe in the ’50’s, but it’s taken from Solzhenitzen’s personal experience of eight years in the Soviet Gulags. I can’t even explain the myrad of feelings and emotions I had when reading it, and I read it for the first time while I was still in high school. You might want to give it a try.

    Like

Leave a Reply

