Best Compliment I’ve Gotten In a While

Define compliment?

First Birthday Cake

Merriam-Webster defines “compliment” as : “an expression of esteem, respect, affection, or admiration; especially : an admiring remark b : formal and respectful recognition : honor; plural : best wishes : regards”

The best compliment I recently received wasn’t really “a” compliment. Last week I celebrated my 45 birthday. When I logged into my facebook page I saw a dozen birthday wishes. As the day went on, there were many more from people I don’t see often, haven’t seen in years and family that I see a lot.

That was the greatest compliment I could have received: not because of what I did for someone but because of who I am to someone.

Powered by Plinky

About mtewks

I like to write for fun and profit. This is my fun blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Best Compliment I’ve Gotten In a While

  1. Courtney says:

    Mary, the best compliment I can give you on the auspicious occasion of the 45th anniversary of your arrival on mother-earth, is that, despite knowing you and Dale only over the net and the phone, you don’t look, sound, or act like you’re 45.

    35, responsible, busy, and just a little harried, maybe, but not 45.

    Then again, people tell me I look like I’m in my early-to-mid 40s. But I still act like I’m in my 20s. Don’t think that last part is supposed to be construed as a compliment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

