My Last Public Meltdown

I'm still free.

The last time I lost my temper in public was at my new allergist's office. My appointment was for 10 a.m. I worked from 7:30 a.m. to 9:20 a.m., explaining to my editor I'd be back by 11:30 a.m. (Plenty of time, right?) I drove the 35 minute drive to the dr office. I arrived ten minute early knowing, as a new patient, I'd have lots of paperwork to fill out.

To make a long story short, and keep my blood pressure from going through the roof, again, I didn't get into a room until 10:10. I sat in that room until 11 a.m., no doctor. I was so mad I went out to the reception's area where the two receptionists and the nurse were sitting around, leaning on their elbows on their desks, looking bored. I semi-calmly explained that I had gotten here early to fill out paperwork and be prompt for my appointment and where is the dr? They looked at me dumbfounded. The nurse shrugged her shoulders and said "I don't know what to tell you." None of them know where the dr was or why he hadn't been into to see me.

So as I'm leaving the receptionist said, "So, you want to reschedule?" I looked at her with an incredulous look and said kind of sarcastically, "Yeah, right, I'll call you." When pigs fly.

The ironic things is, if I didn't show up for my appointment, the office charges my insurance company a $25 fee. But if the dr doesn't show up for my appointment, I can''t charge him a fee. So, I miss 2 hours and ten minutes of work and drive over 40 miles, for nothing.

At least I handled myself pretty respectfully. No arrests were made.

Powered by Plinky

About mtewks

I like to write for fun and profit. This is my fun blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Last Public Meltdown

  1. Linda M. Nowak says:

    Happened to me too. But the doctor didn’t show because the office scheduled me on a day the doctor did rounds in the hospital. Since I had to leave work early and travel to Saginaw from Midland and it WAS NOT my fault, I billed the doctor for missed work and travel expenses. The doctor called me, expressed she was sorry and sent me a check for my troubles. Except for that one thing, and she was a very good doctor, I continued to see her.

    Like

  2. Courtney Fitzsimons says:

    Actually Mary, don’t know why I didn’t think of this before, especially if you’re serious about not ever going back to him. It’s a remedy that’s fun, if you like to reverse-annoy people who’ve annoyed you.

    send the DOCTOR a bill for your time, a nice long itemized bill, including stress factors, gas usage and contribution to global warming, milage rate. I’ve done it before, and it’s really kind of fun bacaueit doesn’t take much time, and only costs a few stamps. Especially if you know where, or can find out where, this Dotor lives, plays, golfs, plays tennis, etc. sen bills to his house, in c/o his club, in c/o his medical professional association (those memberships are usually public record), etc. You have a valid beef. It probably wont get you any money, although I did have one jackass give me $100 to stop with the bills, when I served him a bill in front of his sailing crew at one of the yacht clubs, right after the boat I was on beat the crap outta him on the water.

    I dont get mad. I don’t get even. I get Revenge! Which happened to be the name of the boat I was racing on at that one time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

