When I’m Most Productive

Good morning sunshine!

KMVT Newsroom

Typically, I’m most productive in the morning. I am a morning person, after all.

My work days begin at 5:30 a.m. when the alarm wakes me up, at work by 7:30 a.m. I love getting to work before the editor and reporters come in. The newsroom is quiet, the lights are dim. I can get the previous night’s faxes off the fax machine, check my email, get messages off my voicemail and prioritize my day. Those 30 peaceful minutes before the newsroom is buzzing for the day are priceless.

Since I have a freelance job also, I find it easier to work in the den at home or the library in town, less distractions. McDonalds is not a conducive work environment. Neither is the park or anywhere outside. At least not for me.

Weekday mornings when I’m not at work are very similar, minus the alarm clock. I still get up early. I like to get housework/chores done in the morning so I can enjoy the afternoon. If I sleep in past 8 a.m., I awake feeling like my day is half over.

Tonight, I am experiencing something that only comes around in a blue moon: sleeplessness.

Dale and Sasha are sleeping soundly in their beds, ( I can hear snoring), Blackie’s in her crate snoring, Brook is sleeping in my spot on the bed and the kittens are snuggled in their cat house. “Not a creature was stirring, not even a mouse.” Not a soul is stirring outside either. The houses on Dopp Road are dark and I imagine our neighbors sleeping warm and peaceful. It’s just me and Plinky. Maybe I’ll get some writing done tonight.

Powered by Plinky

About mtewks

I like to write for fun and profit. This is my fun blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When I’m Most Productive

  1. Courtney W. Fitzsimons says:

    Sorry, but BLEECCHH! I really, REALLY abhore mornings. Deal with them because I have to, when I have to, but that doesn’t mean I have to like ’em. I confirmed long ago that there are morning people, and there are nite people, and I ares not a morning people. Have told former bosses & coworkers taht I’ll be in anytime; 5, 6, 7am. Just dont expect my brain to arrive until 8:30 or 9. You can pour all the coffee, tea, Coke, Mountain Dew, etc into me you want. All you’ll have is a wide-awake idiot…who will be spending inordinant amounts of time goint to & from the restroom. Actually, if I knew I hadto be at work extremely early the next day, I’d come home, eat, crash out until about 1 or 2 am. then stay up until I had to leave at about 4 or 5 am. Last time I voluntarily got up that early had something to do with the fraternity, mainly pledging or building snow statues or othere stupid stuff, or duck hunting with my dad. And that last one was over 25 years ago.

    I used to think that “Night Stalker” was a pretty cool moniker, especially because i loved that late-night show with Darren McGavin, until anything containing the term “stalker” became very non-pc. So I guess now I could be termed “night afficianado”, sunrise-appreciative-deprived, or vampire-in-training. Are vampires still “in”?? Or are they way yesterday’s news? Cant keep track of this stuff. Gawd, I’m almost sounding like my dad 25-30 years ago. Almost, not quite, but close enuf to that precipice to scare the tar outta me.

    Later

    Like

Leave a Reply

