Day 5 of my 30 Day Blogging Challenge: My Proudest Moment

The Tewksbury Family, April 2014

The Tewksbury Family, April 2014

I’m not sure I can pinpoint one proud moment but one that stands out is giving birth to my first child on January 24, 1988. All the Lamaze classes didn’t prepare me for 15 hours and 33 minutes of labor. All the stories from other moms still didn’t prepare me either.

After a year of “trying” to create a small version of Dale and I, we gave up, and lo and behold, four months later I was pregnant with child and 10 months of morning sickness, which occurred all day long.

I had a vague notion of delivering all natural, which in my mind meant no medication. I even made my doctor believe I could deliver a baby drug-free. But I was prepared to use drugs, if needed. And even though Dr. Poliskey kept saying “Oh, you won’t need anything” I made sure he knew my Plan B, which was actually my Plan A: drugs.

When the long awaited day came, 18 days after my due date, I thought I was prepared. The nursery was ready and the Lamaze bag was packed. And after  12 and a half hours of counting contractions, and rolling off the couch to breath through each one on my hands and knees, it was time.

Apparently there’s a cutoff time for using drugs. And I missed it. So I delivered Angie at 8:33 p.m. Jan. 24, 1988, totally drug free, both of us. It was a proud moment for me.  I didn’t think I could do it. But I did it.

Proud moments have peppered my life since and usually involves any one of my children. Being a mom is my proudest moment. Not just giving birth or adopting them but hearing other parents/teachers/adults say how respectful and kind they are makes me proud. Proud to be their mom. Now I get to experience proud moments with my grandchildren and two son in laws!

About mtewks

I like to write for fun and profit. This is my fun blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

