Day 7 of my 30 Day Blogging Challenge: Your 5 Favorite Songs

Asking what my 5 favorite songs are is like asking, of my four children, who’s my favorite. I can’t name five because there’s so many to love. I have a variety of music on my Pandora playlist, music that spans from the 1950s to the present. So I’m modifying the topic to my five favorite music genres.

1. Christian contemporary music. KLove is my radio station of choice. My favorite artists are Kari Jobe, Matt Mahr, Meredith Andrews and Lauren Daigle. And Mandisa’s “Good Morning” song is a definite pick me up. Owl City “You’re Not Alone.” These songs and more can be heard online at klove.com.

2. I’m a teen of the 80s! REO Speedwagon’s “Hi Infidelity,” Fleetwood Mac, Stevie Nicks, Queen’s “We Will Rock You,” Pink Floyd’s “Wall” album, Joan Jett and the Blackhearts, Prince, Huey Lewis and the News. The list goes on. My favorite 80s music is now considered “classic rock” music. I like to think of it as 80s “classy rock.” Take a musical tour of the 80s here.

3.Country music. Not the twangy, my-wife-left-me-and-took-the-dog kind of country.  Although I do like the music of country classics Johnny Cash, Loretta Lynn and Dolly Parton. The first album I ever bought was  Kenny Rogers’ “The Gambler.”But I like the kind of country music sung by the hunky, handsome, deep-voiced Trace Adkins, the patriotic Toby Keith, the early music of Jason Aldean. Some of Lady Antebellum, and the funny and cute Brad Paisley. Definitely Carrie Underwood’s “Before He Cheats,” the video is awesome as is the video and music of Martina McBride’s “Independence Day” and Brad Paisley’s “I’m Gonna Miss Her.”

4. Anything from the 1950s and 60s. Elvis Presley tops the list.  I love the Motown sound, doo-wop and the  rock and roll of Chuck Berry. “Earth Angel” by the Penguins, Buddy Holly, the Shirelles, Fats Domino. Listen to the top 100 songs of the 1950s according to Spotify’s playlist here.

5 Other. This is my eclectic collection of music that just doesn’t seem to fit anywhere else. Wierd Al Yankovic’s “Mandatory Fun” album, Will Pharrell’s “Happy,”  “Fireflies” by Owl City. The “Grease” soundtrack is always a classic. Nat King Cole’s “Unforgettable,” is, in my opinion, the most romantic song I’ve ever heard.

Andy WilliamsI love the Andy Williams Christmas album. As a child, I knew Christmas was coming soon when my mom started playing that album. To this day, that album brings back those warm wonderful childhood memories.

Well, there you have it, my top 5 genres. Please share your favorite songs or genres too.

About mtewks

I like to write for fun and profit. This is my fun blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 7 of my 30 Day Blogging Challenge: Your 5 Favorite Songs

  1. Aimee says:

    I would say I have a favorite song for every genre or at least the genres I listen to.
    I’m not even sure what genre to put these into but here are a few of my favorites.
    Edwin McCain- Sign on The Door
    Amy Winehouse- Valerie
    Adele- One and Only
    Darius Rucker-I got Nothin’
    Prince- purple rain
    Nickleback- far away
    Fuel- hemorrhage
    Yelawolf- Whistle Dixie
    Heidi Newfield- Johnny and June
    George Strait-Carrying your love with me
    Blind Melon – No Rain
    Aretha Franklin- Respect
    Miranda Lambert-Mamas broken heart

    And so many others I won’t list it would take forever

    Like

    • mtewks says:

      Aimee, you know who Aretha Franklin is? That’s awesome. I don’t think many people from your generation know who she is. Variety is the spice of life! Keep expanding your musical horizons!

      Like

  2. Aimee says:

    Oh I just love her! Also another of my favorites from her is “A Rose Is Still A Rose”

    Like

  3. Angie says:

    This is impossible for me to answer. Typically my favorite songs I will listen to over and over and over, then I’ll start getting annoyed with them until some time goes by without hearing them, then I end up loving them once again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

